Looking for my fire and cloud

By day the LORD went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night. Exodus 13:21

I often wish that I was alive during various biblical times. I’d love to be able to see some of the amazing things that God’s people of old saw. I’d love to have a pillar of fire or smoke leading me and my family every step of the way.

But when reading these stories, we have to remember that not everyone in the Bible got this kind of guidance.  What about the parents and grandparents of the Exodus generation?  Those who suffered under Pharaoh without ever seeing God’s deliverance, without ever seeing the fire or cloud, without ever meeting Moses?

Jesus told Thomas that he believed because He had seen, but that there would come those later who would believe without seeing, and they would be blessed (John 20:29). I take heart in this because as  a New Testament believer, I walk by faith and not by sight (2 Corinthians 5:7).

Of course I would like to have a clear tangible sign sometimes, but step by step I’m learning to trust in what I cannot see.

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see Hebrews 11:1

Leave a comment