It’s the little things…

Psalm 127

1 Unless the LORD builds the house,
its builders labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city,
the watchmen stand guard in vain.

2 In vain you rise early
and stay up late,
toiling for food to eat—
for he grants sleep to those he loves.

3 Sons are a heritage from the LORD,
children a reward from him.

4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
are sons born in one’s youth.

5 Blessed is the man
whose quiver is full of them.
They will not be put to shame
when they contend with their enemies in the gate.

So technically my birthday is tomorrow, but my wife and kids wanted me to get the most out of my present, so they sprung it on me this morning!  I opened the bag my oldest son gave me and found a picture of him in a frame he made.  This has become a bit of a tradition with my kids, but this one was different.  The frame (made of fun foam) was decorated with goombas, koopa troopers, and of course the Mario Brothers.  It gets better.


My wife had devised Mario and Luigi costumes for my boys.  I was laughing so hard and enjoying the creativity that I never saw it coming.  I opened the bag from my wife, and there was Super Mario Bros. Wii!  We’d been talking about getting this game for months.  I’m thrilled to get the game, but even more thrilled/impressed with my wife’s incredible creativity.  Long after I’ve beaten the game, I will still have these pictures to make me smile and laugh, and hope that not too much of my geek gene was passed onto the boys.

My kids truly are a blessing from the Lord.  I never knew how much a kid could impact a grown man until these two came along.  I am incredibly thankful for my wife, Keelie, and my little monkey and big ox, AKA Luigi and Mario.  My prayer is that I will live up to the ideal of Psalm 71, and faithfully declare God’s love to the next generation, starting with my own children, teaching them that God loves them even more than I do.  God help me reach this goal!

Psalm 71

15 My mouth will tell of your righteousness,
of your salvation all day long,
though I know not its measure.

16 I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign LORD;
I will proclaim your righteousness, yours alone.

17 Since my youth, O God, you have taught me,
and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.

18 Even when I am old and gray,
do not forsake me, O God,
till I declare your power to the next generation,
your might to all who are to come.

Leave a comment